Skip to content

From Conception to Completion

November 30, 2009
NaNoWriMo

 

As you can see from the graphic standing proudly ovehead, I did it.

On November 1st, I sat staring at a blank screen, with a head half-filled with a vague idea of a story and a few pages of notes I’d scribbled on a boring train journey six months ago. At 9pm on November 30th, I typed the word ‘with’. I’d be the first to admit it’s not the most spectacular of words. It certainly wasn’t the first time I’d typed it this month. But what made that particular ‘with’ a rather remarkable word was the fact that it was the fifty thousandth word I’d typed since I started working on “The Sisters” some thirty days before.

It’s not all glory though. I’ve completed 50000 words, which was the challenge I accepted from the bods at NaNoWriMo … but I haven’t completed “The Sisters” yet. I’ve still got quite a few thousand words ahead of me. Maybe as many as another 50000. And without NaNoWriMo pushing me to produce an average of 1667 words a day, it may take me a little while to get the first draft of the story completed.

And then there will be the second draft.

Oh my – what have I started?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. kimmie permalink
    November 30, 2009 10:06 pm

    well done x
    thought of you today and wondered how you had done, comes as no surprise that you achieved your goal 🙂
    cant wait to read it, no matter how long we have to wait !!

  2. December 1, 2009 12:02 am

    Started??? Something epic and worthy I am sure….

    Congrats – champagne toast-across-the-ocean on me, please!!

    XO

    • December 1, 2009 6:00 pm

      Thank you, SG. But will I be allowed to spray some of the champagne on you?

  3. bluebird permalink
    December 1, 2009 12:16 am

    Congratulations to your efforts dear sir… or should I say

    WHOO-HOO!!

    and wish many happy returns to the book.

    • December 1, 2009 6:01 pm

      A double thank you, Bluebird – and I’ll give the book your best wishes…

  4. December 1, 2009 12:23 am

    Congratulations 🙂

    • December 1, 2009 6:01 pm

      Thank you, Caroline – long time, no chit chat…

  5. ladyinparis permalink
    December 1, 2009 12:12 pm

    Congrats…proud of you.

  6. December 1, 2009 6:44 pm

    Wow, I am impressed!! I know how hard NaNo is, I’ve tried it before but have never succeeded at the word count goal. Congratulations!!

  7. December 1, 2009 9:12 pm

    I knew if anyone could do it, EA, you could. Congratulations.

    • December 1, 2009 10:27 pm

      I’m just one of many who rose to the challenge, NS – but thank you…

Leave a Reply

