Skip to content

Bonne Année

January 15, 2010

For those who think I’ve been rather inactive on the writing front for a while … you’re absolutely right. I’ve been sat on my duff, eating and drinking heartily, singling merrily, and dancing like a man with legs of uneven length and pants full of ants. Writing of any sort has been the last thing on my mind. In fact, I’ve gone out of my way not to be left alone with a keyboard. I even considered selling my house just so I wouldn’t have to go in my study this month.

Alas, my reticence where writing was concerned was bound to dry up eventually. A little while ago, a fellow blogger mentioned that she was about to celebrate her blogiversary, and she asked if I would consider writing something to mark the occasion. And being a man who doesn’t like disappointing women, I said I’d try and come up with a suitable piece.

So if you’d like to read it, you’ll need to take a little trip over to From There To Here, where you can read my new tale of Eros, The Falls.

In the meantime … a happy, successful and – most importantly of all – peaceful New Year to you all.

 

31 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 6:41 pm

    Nothing wrong with sitting on your duff, as long as it is productive sitting!

    • January 30, 2010 2:17 pm

      I couldn’t agree more, Liras…

  2. ladyinparis permalink
    January 15, 2010 10:30 pm

    Your writing is exquisite no matter where it is…

    And please keep on being merry and happy, but never forget your keyboard.

    For heavens sake DON’T sell your house at least not during the winter months…where would you sleep??????

    Thanks.

    • January 17, 2010 7:45 pm

      Perhaps someone would be willing to put me up on their sofa for a few nights?

      • ladyinparis permalink
        January 18, 2010 9:47 am

        I bet you’ll have many takers….Are you passing out the numbers 😉

        • January 18, 2010 10:52 pm

          I haven’t had a single offer as yet, LiP…

        • ladyinparis permalink
          January 19, 2010 12:02 pm

          If you are so inclined,,,you can come here to Paris!!

    • February 25, 2010 11:07 am

      We have a couch in Scotland…you’d be most welcome. Be warned, the flat is tiny. 😉

  3. bluebird permalink
    January 15, 2010 11:51 pm

    Well… in your absence I have been fantasizing about lots of pleasurable things that could be done with your avatar 😉

    • January 17, 2010 7:45 pm

      My avatar heartily approves of being used in such a fashion, Bluebird…

  4. January 16, 2010 4:03 pm

    That was such an awesome piece you did. Now I just need to catch someone reading through my reader and I shall be happy.;)

  5. Shadowtrance permalink
    January 16, 2010 7:22 pm

    Yet another wonderful gem … I really shall have to save up and get one of my own sometime 🙂

    • January 17, 2010 7:46 pm

      You know where I am if and when you decide you want one, Shadowtrance…

  6. Xanthe permalink
    January 16, 2010 9:17 pm

    “dancing like a man with legs of uneven length and pants full of ants.”… taking dance lessons from Mr Bean, EA???

    Hope the New Year brings a book deal, a best seller & wealth beyond the dreams of avarice!

    • January 17, 2010 7:47 pm

      Thank you for the good wishes, Xanthe. Mind you, I’d happily settle for a book deal, a best seller and enough money to put a down payment on an Aston Martin DBS…

      (BTW Bean and I are good friends. In fact, he’s the inspiration behind many of my male protagonists)

      • ladyinparis permalink
        January 18, 2010 4:05 pm

        Dear dear me…and all along I imagined your protagonist to be George Clooney…what a disappointment…:-(

        • January 18, 2010 10:51 pm

          I’m sorry to disappoint, but I’m sure you can shoehorn George in somewhere…

  7. Elyse permalink
    January 21, 2010 3:40 am

    Happy New Year EA! May much success and happiness be yours!

    So delighted to see an update from you. I was totally able to place myself into your words and enjoy the ride. – As always!

    Thank you for the glorious ride!

    Elyse

    • January 25, 2010 1:20 pm

      You’re welcome, Elyse – and thank you for the good wishes…

  8. January 25, 2010 6:24 pm

    Thank again sweet man…the piece is indeed lovely and i greatly appreciation your time and efforts.

    ~sg

    • January 26, 2010 10:41 pm

      You’re very welcome, SG – I’m glad you enjoyed it. Warm congratulations on your anniversary…

  9. ladyinparis permalink
    January 26, 2010 10:53 pm

    Anytime, just mention the date….

    Paris will be waiting your arrival.

    • January 30, 2010 2:18 pm

      It’s very kind of you to extend an invitation to visit Paris…

  10. ladyinparis permalink
    February 2, 2010 12:23 pm

    So, it has been almost a month???

    • March 1, 2010 1:18 pm

      I think it was well over a month in the end…

  11. February 4, 2010 12:08 am

    There’s nothing wrong with sitting on your duff as long as you’re doing your kegel and pelvic floor exercises at the same time. We wouldnt want that love muscle to atrophy 😛

    • March 1, 2010 1:18 pm

      It does suffer the risk of atrophy all too frequently, I’m sorry to report…

  12. sensuelle permalink
    February 23, 2010 1:58 pm

    Such a long hiatus! Hope work on ‘The Sisters’ is going well? Looking forward to having you back in blogland.

    • March 1, 2010 1:19 pm

      ‘The Sisters’ is progressing – and (for the time being, anyway) the hiatus is over…

Leave a Reply

